

# **MINUTES**

# Economic Development Advisory Committee (EDAC)

Virtual Meeting

1/22/2021 8:01 AM | Meeting called to order by Chairman Howard Males

## **In Attendance**

Manny Flores

# **EDAC Members**

Howard Males,	Xochitl Flores	Rob Rose
Chairman	Bridgett Gainer	David Shabes
Pam McDonough	(Noureen Hashim)	<b>Edward Sitar</b>
Vice Chair	Andrew Geer	Deborah Stone
Erin Aleman	Graham Grady	William Towns
Todd J. Cabanban	Jennifer Killen	Rob Tucker
Teresa Córdova	Sharon Legenza	John Watson
Kristi DeLaurentiis		
Emilia DiMenco		

### **BED Representatives**

Aris Kotsioris	Jamila McMillon	Sheryl Stewart-Caldwell
Barbara Maloof	Karl Bradley	Dunni Cosey Gay
Dominic Tocci	Veda Britt – Handy	
Irene Sherr	Mohammed Elahi	

# **Guests**

Charisse Conanan Johnson, Next Street Katherine Johnson, Next Street Cristian Lopez, Next Street Victoria Moreno, Commissioner Anaya's Office

# **Public Commentary**

• Chairman Males announced that a quorum was present.

• Chairman Males opened the floor to public commentary. There were no public speakers.

#### Remarks from EDAC Chairman Howard Males

Chairman Males welcomed the board members and the public to the meeting.

# **Approval of Minutes**

• The December 9, 2020, minutes were approved with no abstentions.

## County Small Business Ecosystem Assessment and Path Forward in a COVID Economy

- Charisse Conanan Johnson from Next Street gave an update on where they are with their work.
- Next Street provided recommendations from their research.
- EDAC members raised questions and a discussion around continuing work in a post COVID economy.

## **Bureau of Economic Development 2021 Overview**

• The Bureau of Economic Development's Bureau Chief Xochitl Flores gave remarks and updates on the bureau's upcoming work for 2021.

#### Adjournment

 Chairman Males called for a motion to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 9:31 a.m.