Commission on Human Rights Meetings & Commissioners

Service Information

Human Rights Commissioners

The Cook County Commission on Human Rights is an eleven member board appointed by the President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners, subject to the advice and consent of the Cook County Board of Commissioners. Human Rights Commissioners must be residents of Cook County, and may not be employed by Cook County government during their term. Human Rights Commissioners serve a renewable three-year term without financial compensation.

Appointees to the Cook County Commission of Human Rights have a strong commitment to, and involvement in, issues related to civil rights and/or fair compensation for labor. They are committed to making Cook County a better place to live and work.

  • Jack Block, Interim Chair
  • S. Mayumi Grigsby
  • Angie Cowan Hamada
  • Ceylan Eatherton
  • Gia Orr
  • Amber Smock
  • Sufyan Sohel
  • Rev. Richard L. Tolliver
  • Anjali Waikar

Meetings of the Commission

Regular Meetings of the Cook County Commission on Human Rights are held on the second Thursday of every other month (unless designated otherwise). The meetings are held at 10:00 a.m. at 69 W. Washington Street, Suite 3040, Chicago, IL 60602.

Meetings of the Commission are open to the public and include time for members of the public to provide the Commission with written and/or oral comments. If you need any other assistance to attend, please contact the Commission at least 72 hours prior to the date of the scheduled meeting at 312.603.1100 (voice) or 312.603.1101 (TT/TDD).

Next Meeting

Public Notice of October 7, 2021 Meeting

Meeting Agenda October 7, 2021

Click here to join the meeting

Previous Meetings

Public Notice of August 19, 2021 Meeting

Meeting Agenda August 19, 2021

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Minutes August 19, 2021

Meeting Minutes June 10, 2021

Meeting Minutes April 15, 2021


Location Title
Intake interviews are by appointment only, please call or email to make an intake appointment.
Location Phone
Location Fax
Location Hours
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 8:30 am-4:30 pm
Tuesday: 8:30 am-4:30 pm
Wednesday: 8:30 am-4:30 pm
Thursday: 8:30 am-4:30 pm
Friday: 8:30 am-4:30 pm
Saturday: Closed